Isiolo District covers an area of 25,698 square kilometers, the District is divided into Six Administrative divisions and has two constituencies which are IsioloNorth and Isiolo South. There is only one local authority in the district, the Isiolo County Council, which controls all the resources in the district in trust, and on behalf of the residents. This means that boundaries for the County Council are the same for district administration. All services, land and other amenities are in the jurisdiction of the County Council.

Isiolo District is one of the thirteen districts forming Eastern Province. It is bordered by ten Districts: namely Marsabit and Moyale Districts to the North, Wajir to the East and Garissa to the South East. Tana River, Mwingi, Nyambene and Meru Central to the South, Laikipia to the South West and Samburu to the West. The District covers an area of 25,698 square kms and is located between longitude 36º60´ and 38º50’ East and latitude 0º05´ and 2º north.[1] The District is divided into six administrative divisions, namely Central, Oldonyiro, Merti, Sericho, Garbatulla and Kinna. There are 22 locations and 44 sub-locations.

The current population of Isiolo is estimated to be 160,000. The highest density of 29 persons per square kilometer is found in the Central Division which is a commercial centre, known as Isiolo town (a four hour drive from Nairobi); and the lowest density of one person per square Kilometer in Merti Division. Water availability, security, and better infrastructure seem to influence the district’s population distribution and density.

The District is hot and dry, almost throughout the year with two rainy seasons, short rains from October to November, and long rains from March to May; with an average rainfall of 580mm. Mean annual temperature of 27 ºC is recorded throughout the year, with most parts of the district recording about a nine hour day of sunshine and a high rate of evaporation. Most of the district is a flat low lying plain. To the west are volcanic hills, and the foothill slopes of Mt Kenya, and Nyambene Hills. There are four perennial rivers in the district, namely, Ewaso Nyiro that drains into Lorian Swamp, Isiolo River that originates from Mt. Kenya, and drains into the Ewaso Nyiro, and the Bisanadi that drains into the River Tana. Irrigation schemes are found along the rivers, but strategic damming of these rivers is necessary to provide enough water for irrigation.

Sustainable development, as relates to the Isiolo Integrated and Planned Hub is intended to achieve sustainable development which is the ability to ensure the needs of the present, without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs. The IIPH will also promote positive socio-economic change that does not undermine the ecological and social systems upon which communities and societies are dependent. Sustainable development requires integrated policy planning and social learning processes, while its political viability depends on the full support of the people it affects – through their government, their social institutions and their private activities.

The basis for full integration of development and environment therefore will be provided which are viable paths to a sustainable future. Further, the development of the IIPH will be in concert with the people of Isiolo, exploiting and trading in a sustainable and responsible manner, This is in realization that when environment comes first, development becomes sustainable, beneficial, and indeed durable.

Poverty and unemployment are the most serious impediments to attainment of sustainable development and growth. The Isiolo Integrated and Planned Hub will only become a reality if proactive proposals are put in place towards the reduction of poverty, thus curbing the inappropriate utilization of resources such as cutting down trees; building poor quality houses and shelter; pollution and misuse of water supplies among others.